When first starting to eat Gluten-Free, learning how to read packages is crucial! I found this out the hard way the other day – I thought that Corn Flakes would be Gluten-Free but I was WRONG! There is an ingredient in there that I didn’t know contained traces of Gluten, which made me have a reaction.
There is a great list of Manufacturer Statements about which items are Gluten-Free and how they will label the packages accordingly. There currently is not a uniform policy on how Allergen’s are to be labeled, which makes it very difficult for those of use who have allergies.
For instance – Kraft shared their statement on gluten-free labeling:
If a Kraft product contains gluten, a source of gluten will be listed in the ingredient statement, no matter how small the amount. For labeling purposes, we include wheat, barley, rye and oats as sources of gluten.” – Source
I do most of my shopping at Wegmans – since they clearly label every one of their store products with a G for Gluten-Free. Many other grocery stores are following suite, so hopefully we will see more and more grocery stores accurately labeling their store brand products.